Workers’ compensation is a system in North Carolina that provides benefits to employees who are injured or become ill at work. The system is designed to help employees recover from injuries and return to their everyday lives as quickly as possible.
Workers’ compensation insurance covers medical expenses, wage replacement, and other benefits. Workers’ compensation is mandatory in North Carolina, and almost all categories of employers must have this insurance for their staff.
What Types of Injuries Are Compensated for Under the Workers Compensation Plan in NC
Under the workers’ compensation plan in North Carolina, there are several types of injuries that are compensated for. These injuries can include physical injuries, mental health issues, and even death. Essentially, anything that seriously affects a member of staff’s health at their job is compensable under the state’s workers’ compensation program.
It is important to note the following eligibility requirements when considering filing for workers’ compensation in North Carolina:
i. The affected employee must be employed at the firm the injury happened.
ii. The affected employee must still have a valid employment contract at the time of the injury.
iii. The affected employee must have been injured while performing an authorized job duty.
What Types of Injuries Are Not Compensated for Under the Workers Compensation Plan in NC
In North Carolina, a few injuries are not typically covered by workers’ compensation. These include:
i. Intentional acts
ii. Injuries that are not work-related (e.g., an auto accident outside of the workplace)
iii. An injury caused by the use of an intoxicating or impairing substance (e.g., alcohol) on the job
Also, under North Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation system, some injuries that are not covered by the plan include pain and suffering, as well as normal wear and tear that is peculiar to your line of work.
The Process of Claiming Workers’ Compensation in North Carolina
In the event of an injury or illness, workers’ compensation is valuable protection. But even after your work-related illness or injury, there are still steps you need to take to get compensation. These steps include:
i. Report the injury to your employer: In North Carolina, as in most states, if you are injured at work and might need to seek medical attention from a doctor, you are required by law to report the injury to your employer. You can do this orally or in writing. If you wish to claim workers’ compensation in North Carolina, you must have informed your employer no later than 30 days from the date of the injury.
ii. Visit a hospital: The next step is to visit a hospital. This is important because, to claim workers’ compensation benefits, you will be required to provide hospital records as proof of your work-related injury or illness. It is also important to note that you can be compensated for your trips to the hospital. In North Carolina, if your hospital is 20 miles or more roundtrip from your home or office, you will be reimbursed at a rate of 54 cents per mile for every medically necessary trip you make to and from a doctor’s office.
iii. File a claim with N.C. Industrial Commission: After following through with steps (i.) and (ii.) above, you will then need to file form 18 with the North Carolina Industrial Commission. This form will ask for basic information about your injury and employer and will also document when and how you were injured. You are expected to make at least two copies of this form. The original copy is to be submitted to N.C. Industrial Commission, one copy is yours, and the last copy must be given to your employer. Afterward, the Industrial Commission will then process your claim and determine whether you’re eligible for benefits.
What Are Some Reasons a Workers Compensation Claim Might Not Be Successful in North Carolina
Workers’ compensation claims can be complex, requiring injured workers to follow all the steps in the process to ensure that they get compensated. Some common reasons why an injured or ill worker may be denied include the following:
i. A filing for an ineligible injury
ii. An instance where an employer disputes the injury or the cause of the injury
iii. A lack of provision of all required documents (e.g., medical statements)
iv. Not filing the documents within the stipulated timeframes
v. Incorrect filling and filing of workers’ compensation documents
How Can You Ensure That You’ll Receive Your Workers’ Compensation After an Illness or Injury?
North Carolina workers’ compensation covers medical expenses, wage replacement, and disability benefits. Workers’ compensation is important because it helps to ensure that workers can recover from injuries and return to their jobs. But how can you be sure you won’t get denied at any stage of the process?
To ensure you get what you deserve, you need to work with a North Carolina workers’ compensation attorney at Wilson Ratledge from the get-go. We know what to do and how to do it and would be happy to help. If you have filed a previous application that has been denied, you may also contact us to help you file an appeal.